Courage on the city bus – Day 7 of 30 days of courage (April 7)

thebusPhoto Credit: indopost.com

I catch the bus to work 4 days a week early in the morning; it is good for the environment and I love it because I can read and study scriptures and meditate before my day gets busy. On this route are a lot of older Filipino men and women in their 60s and 70s going to do farm work. I admire these men and women very much because a lot of them are here to work so they can send money home to their spouses and children. They look old, tired, and frail, but they persevere in their work. I see courage in their countenance and I also see strength to endure. Some wake up so much earlier than I do to get ready and catch the bus. When they get off this bus, there’s a van waiting to take them inland to the valley to work the farms in the hot sun. Some of them are here alone while the rest of the family is in the Philippines. Some are here with spouses while children remain back home. It must be difficult to live here without the comfort of one’s family. So it is with the old man I was blessed to chat with on the bus today. One time I got on the bus, it was full. I saw an old man dozing off in one seat, his bag on the seat next to him. I tapped him if I could sit where his bag was. He apologized, picked up his bag and let me sit there; I thanked him. Today, I got on the bus and it was pretty much full, but I saw the same old man grab his bag from the seat next to him and offered the seat to me. I again thanked him and sat down. He must have known which bus stop I get on. I pulled out my phone to study the scriptures and began my meditation, but from the corner of my eye, I could see he was watching me. I felt impressed to share with him what I was doing because this brings me such peace, joy, and comfort every day every day every day. He speaks some English and is fluent in Ilocano, so I showed him scriptures and spiritual messages in Ilocano; one of the messages was on courage from Thomas S. Monson. He read it and had a smile on his face. That smile made all the difference! I told him he has great courage to wake up so early to go to work to support his family. He told me all his children are in the Philippines, but he and his wife are here to work. This touched me deeply today because I sensed a feeling of responsibility from this good old man. I also think it was because it reminded me so much of the sacrifices of my own courageous father who worked the land from sunrise to sunset to provide for our family and so I could get a good education. That was a tender mercy and moment for me on the city bus today. I looked around inside the city bus; it was filled with people just returning from work with tired looks on their faces and some going to work. Some are nurses, restaurant workers, construction laborers, caretakers, farm workers, teachers, retail staff, security personnel, and convenient store employees. It made me think of how many others around the world doing the same thing to sustain life. I saw courage on the city bus – courage to provide, courage to give, courage to love, courage to work, and courage to make it through another day. My heart was thankful to be among all these men and women on the city bus because they added an ounce of courage to my daily journey. My old man friend got off the bus, we said goodbye, and my heart was glad for what I shared and discovered on the city bus.

2 thoughts on “Courage on the city bus – Day 7 of 30 days of courage (April 7)

  1. Thank you for this story. As a Filipino, I am touched by your act. There are so many Filipinos working abroad for the family they left back home. They are considered heroes in our country for the struggles that they overcome being away from their family just to be able to provide for their loved ones. Truly an act of courage.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

